Maulana Azad College, previously called Islamia College, was established in 1926. Though it is a prime institution of Eastern India, unfortunately all efforts, in the past, to form an Alumni Association proved ephemeral due to various reasons. However, in the year 2010 the dream of establishing the Maulana Azad College Alumni Association Kolkata (MACAAK) came true due to the sincere endeavours made by its ex-students.
The first meeting of the Ex-Students of the College was held on 24 th April 2010 under the chairmanship of Prof. Subhasis Datta, the then Principal of Maulana Azad College with a view to establishing an Alumni Association. The prominent ex-students, who took special interest and spearheaded this noble cause, comprised Mr. Md. Shamim (Retd. IPS), Mr. Jawaid Iqbal (Ex-WBCS), Mr. Anis Akhter, Dr. Gholam Sarwar, Dr. Md. Mansoor Alam, Dr. Tanwir Ahmed, Mr. Jameel Ahmed, Mr. Nishat Alam, Mr. Mozammil Hossain, Mr. Tanwir Ahmed Khan etc.

In the very first meeting it was resolved that the Memorandum of Association of the Alumni Association i.e. Maulana Azad College Alumni Association Kolkata be drafted and membership drive be given impetus to garner the support of ex-students. On 8 th May 2010 a working committee of the Association was formed and in the meeting held on 19 th June, 2010 the Memorandum of Association was approved. In the same meeting, the Executive Committee of the Association was formed as per the approved Memorandum of Association.

In a meeting dated 19.06. 2010, it was resolved that the MACAAK be registered under the West Bengal Societies Registration Act 1961 at the earliest. Prof. Gholam Sarwar, the General Secretary along with Mr. Jaweed Yusuf, Mr. Mozammil Hossain and Mr. Tanwir Ahmed Khan worked hard for the registration and eventually got the association registered with effect from 19.01.2011 vide Regn. No.S/1L/77219.

As per the resolution dated 19.11.2011 the Foundation Day of the Maulana Azad College was organised by the Alumni Association in a befitting manner at Wahshat Hall of the College. A large number of Ex-students attended this function and showed their interest in the activities of the Association. The function was presided by Mr. M. Nizam and Mr. Ghaznaffar Ali Khan (Retd. IAS) graced the occasion as Guest in Chief. Prof. Dilip Kumar Ghose, the Director of the Institute of Historical Studies, Kolkata attended the function as Guest of Honour. On this occasion, Prof. Md. Mansoor Alam released a booklet entitled {{Maulana Azad College --- A Historical Background. Among the Alumni, the names of Prof. Sukumar Sen, Ex-Principal, Maulana Azad College, Prof. Sulaiman Khurshid, the then Gen. Secretary of Muslim Institute, Prof. Naim Anis, Mr. Irshad Arzoo deserve to be mentioned. The function was a grand success. .

The Bank A/c. of the Association was opened with the United Bank of India, Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Road Branch.

In a meeting dated 19-8-2013, the Executive Committee decided to institute a Memorial Lecture on Maulana Abul Kalam Azad on the occasion of 125 th Birth Anniversary of the Maulana. The Secretary with the cooperation of the Principal, Maulana Azad College organised the memorial lecture on Wednesday, the 20 th November, 2013 at G-2. Prof. Sulaiman Khurshid delivered his lecture on Maulana Azad: A Nationalist and Prof. Aneek Chatterjee of Presidency University presented his paper on the Contribution of Maulana Azad to the development of Scientific and Technical Education in India. A large number of teachers and students of the College attended the lecturer. Some other guests from outside the college, too, attended the lecture.

MAC ALUMNI ASSOCIATION KOLKATA has been cooperating and coordinating with the college authority in respect of various academic activities of the college. It has coordinated in plantation programme, blood donation, counselling, maintenance of discipline etc. Of late, the Association has instituted A.K.Fazlul Huq Memorial Lecture on the 24th August, 2016. The lecture was attended by faculty members, alumni and students of the college. The MAC Alumni Association Kolkata is going to hold its 6th AGM on the 24th September, 2016.


Governing Council Members:


Dr. Bijoy Krishna Roy (Principal) Ex-Officio President
Md. Nizam (Retd. IPS) Working President
Dr. Md. Mansoor Alam Vice-President
Prof. Deb Kumar Mitra Vice-President
Prof. Gholam Sarwar General Secretary
Mr. Khwaja Jaweed Yusuf Asst. General Secretary
Mr. Mozammil Hossain Asst. General Secretary
Ms. Sudarshana Sen Asst. General Secretary
Prof. Jamil Ahmed Treasurer
Prof. Tanwir Ahmed
Mr. Ritwik Roy
Prof. Anis Akhter
Prof. Dabir Ahmed
Mr. Nishat Alam
Mr. Shamsul Alam
Mr. Somyobroto Das
Ms. Shirin Zafar
Mr. Tanweer Ahmed Khan
Prof. Aurobindo Pal
Prof. Md. Shahid Jamil
Mr. Tanvir Afzal
Prof. Sukanti Dutta
Mr. Jawaid Iqbal
Mr. Saikat Bhattacharya



Maulana Azad College Alumni Association Kolkata

8, Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Road, Kolkata-700013

Regn, No. S/1L/77219

Email ID: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it